skip to content


Cambridge Centre for Environment, Energy and Natural Resource Governance


C-EENRG Director, Professor Laura Diaz Anadon, has been selected to join the new European Scientific Advisory Board on Climate Change as one of its 15 members.

The European Climate Law, adopted in June 2021, sets out a binding objective of climate neutrality in the EU by 2050 in pursuit of the long-term temperature goal set out in the Paris Agreement. It also provides a framework for achieving progress in pursuit of the global adaptation goal established in the Paris Agreement. To support the achievement of these objectives the European Climate Law also provides for the establishment of a European Scientific Advisory Board on Climate Change.

The Advisory Board is composed of 15 independent senior scientific experts covering a broad range of relevant disciplines, selected in an open, fair and transparent selection procedure. Following this procedure, the EEA Management Board appointed the following 15 members (in alphabetical order):

  • Maarten van Aalst, University of Twente

  • Jette Bredahl Jacobsen, University of Copenhagen 

  • Constantinos Cartalis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

  • Suraje Dessai, University of Leeds

  • Laura Díaz AnadónUniversity of Cambridge 

  • Ottmar Edenhofer,  Technische Universität in Berlin

  • Vera Eory, Scotland’s Rural College

  • Edgar Hertwich, Norwegian University of Science and Technology in Trondheim 

  • Lena Kitzing, Technical University of Denmark

  • Elena López-Gunn, ICATALIST

  • Lars J. Nilsson, Lund University 

  • Keywan Riahi, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis

  • Joeri Rogelj, Grantham Institute of the Imperial College London 

  • Nicolaas Schrijver, Leiden University 

  • Jean-Francois Soussana, French National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and the Environment

The Advisory Board will provide independent scientific advice on EU measures and climate targets and their coherence with the European Climate Law and the EU's international commitments under the Paris Agreement. The Advisory Board will build on the best available and most recent scientific evidence, including the latest reports of the IPCC and other national and international bodies. It will follow a fully transparent process and make its reports publicly available.

Read more about the European Scientific Advisory Board on Climate Change and its 15 members.