skip to primary navigationskip to content


Cambridge Centre for Environment, Energy and Natural Resource Governance

Studying at Cambridge


Oxford Handbook of Comparative Environmental Law Workshop

last modified Jan 18, 2017 09:41 AM

Oxford Handbook of Comparative Environmental Law Workshop
Cambridge, 19-21 January 2017 

CEENRG logo 


Conference Programme

Speakers have 10 minutes for their presentation/an outline of their paper to allow for a full discussion. The focus of presentations should be on (a) the approach taken to the paper, and (b) the intended contents. After each paper, the discussant will provide short editorial comments on the drafts of the papers before discussion is opened up to all.

We gratefully acknowledge financial support from the Newton Fund (BRIDGE Project) and the Cambridge Land Economy Advisory Board (CLEAB).

Please download our programme detail here


Thursday 19 January

12:00 – 14:00                          Registration / lunch

14:00 – 14:30                          Introduction session: Jorge Vinuales and Emma Lees

14:30 – 16:00   Part I: Country studies (Chair and discussant: Emma Lees)

                                                Douglas Fisher: Australia

                                                Nick Bryner: Brazil

                                                Markus Gehring: European Union

                                                Olaf Dilling: Germany

16:00 – 16:15                          Break

16:15 – 18:15  Part I: Country studies (suite) (Chair and discussant: Jorge Vinuales)

                                                Stepan Wood: Canada

                                                Bharat Desai & Balraj Sidhu: India

                                                Simon Butt & Prayetki Murharjanti: Indonesia

                                                Jan Glazewski: South Africa

                                                Stuart Bell: United Kingdom

19:30 onwards                      Informal drinks (The Eagle)


Friday 20 January

9:00 – 11.15   Part II: Environmental problems (Chair: Colin Reid; Discussant: Jorge Vinuales)

                                                Massimilliano Montini: Atmospheric pollution

                                                Dan Tarlock: Water

                                                Till Markus: Fisheries

                                                Anne Saab: Genetically Modified Organisms

                                                Augustin Garcia Ureta: Wildlife

                                Geert van Calster & Lucas Bergkamp: Chemicals and Waste

11.15 – 11:45                          Coffee break

11:45 – 12.45   Part III: Systems (Chair: Chris Rodgers; Discussant: Jorge Vinuales)

                                                Robert Percival: Environmental transitions

                                                Eloise Scotford: Environmental Principles

                                                Liz Fisher: Science/policy Interfaces

12.45 – 13.30                          Lunch

13.30 – 15.45   Part III: Systems (suite) (Chair: Liz Fisher; Discussant: Jorge Vinuales)

                                                Moritz Reese: Devolution of Power

                                                Chris Rodgers: Ownership Structures

                                                Brian Preston: Regulatory organisation

                               Emma Lees & Robert Carnwath: Adjudication Systems

                                                Amy Cutter-McKenzie: Education Policies

15.45 – 16:15                           Break

16:15 – 18:30  Part III: Systems (suite) (Chair: Ole Pederson; Discussant: Jorge Vinuales)

                                                Bettina Lange: Command and Control Regulation

                                                Neil Craik: Environmental Permitting

                                                Colin Reid: Protection of Sites

                                                Sanja Bogojevic: Market Mechanisms

                                                Karen Morrow: Informational Requirements

                                                Monika Hinteregger: Tort and Liability

19:00 for 19.30                       Dinner at King’s College


Saturday 21 January

9:00 – 11:00   Part IV: Interactions (Chair: Brian Preston; Discussant: Emma Lees)

                                                Ole Pederson: Environmental Law and Public Law

                                                David Howarth: Environmental Law and Private Law

                                                Emma Lees: Environmental Law and Criminal Law

                      Geert van Calster: Environmental Law in Private International Law

                      Jorge Vinuales: Environmental Law in Public International Law

11:00 – 11:30  Conference closing discussions: Emma Lees and Jorge Vinuales

12:00                                       Lunch



List of Attendees

J E Vinuales (University of Cambridge)

Emma Lees (University of Cambridge)

Natalie Jones (Conference Assistant, PhD student, University of Cambridge)

Stuart Bell (York Law School, The University of York)

Lucas Bergkamp, (KU Leuven)

Katharina Bieberstein (UNEP-WCMC)

Sanja Bogojević (Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford)

Nick Bryner (UCLA School of Law)

Simon Butt (University of Sydney)

Geert van Calster (University of Leuven)

Robert Carnwath (UK Supreme Court)

Neil Craik (University of Waterloo)

Amy Cutter-Mackenzie (Southern Cross University)

Bharat Desai (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

Olaf Dilling (Bremen University)

Douglas Fisher (QUT)

Liz Fisher (Corpus Christi College, Oxford)

Agustín García Ureta (University of the Basque Country, C-EENRG)

Markus Gehring (University of Cambridge)

Jan Glazewski (University of Cape Town)

Veerle Heyvaert (LSE)

Monika Hinteregger (University of Graz)

Wolfgang Köck (Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research - UfZ)

Bettina Lange (Wolfson College, Oxford)

Marianne Logan (Southern Cross University)

Till Markus (University of Bremen)

J F Mercure (Radboud University, C-EENRG and BRIDGE Project leader)

Massimiliano Montini (University of Siena, C-EERNG)

Karen Morrow (Swansea University)

Prayekti Murharjanti (University of Sydney)

Ole Pedersen (Newcastle University)

Bob Percival (University of Maryland)

Brian Preston (Chief Judge, Land and Environment Court of New South Wales)

Moritz Reese (Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research – UfZ)

Colin Reid (University of Dundee)

Chris Rodgers (Newcastle University)

Anne Saab (Graduate Institute Geneva)

Eloise Scotford (King’s College London)

Balraj Sidhu (Centre for Global Cooperation Research)

Stepan Wood (Osgoode Hall Law School)

Yuling Zhang (Guangzhou Institute of Geography)